Configuring Advanced Features → The Social View
The Social view is an alternative view of primary items that enables users to collaborate more easily. For example, an item feed enables users to quickly and easily see who has contributed information to an item. Users can also easily post status entries, notes, and attachments.
In general, the Social view provides an alternate view of the traditional Details view of a primary item. This section describes the relationships between application elements and the Social view.
All data added to an item is available in the appropriate areas of the Social and Item Details views. For example, if a note is added to the Social view, users with appropriate privileges can see the note in the Item Details view.
Privileges govern a user's ability to see items in the Social view. For example, users who do not have privileges to see change history for an item will not see change history entries in the Item Log.
The Journal Log is based on Text fields set as Journal fields and an Update transition. The first enabled update transition named "Update" is used to add entries. If such a transition does not exist, the Journal Log uses the first transition of the type "update." If the transition requires any input from users, such as required fields or notes, the Journal log is not available.
By default, the first Journal field found is used in the log, but users can select other Journal fields from the drop-down list.
Users cannot delete Journal Log entries for Journal fields set as "append only."
The Experts feature enables users to see a list of experts based on the number and kind of similar items they worked on.
Only items that have been in the same state in the past six months are evaluated.
Deleted users are not included in the suggested expert list.
The current user is not included in the suggested expert list.
To enable the Experts feature, you must first:
Users who choose to follow an item are sent e-mail notifications based on changes to the item. You can define what it means to follow an item by creating notifications for each workflow in the system.
For example, you may want to send users an e-mail when any changes are made to an item they are following. In this case, you can create a notification with a rule like this:
"Any Item Changes"
Assign the rule to a notification so that e-mails are generated when any item changes. Once you select this notification for a workflow's Social view, users will receive an e-mail any time a change is made to the item they are following.
By default, the Social view is enabled for all primary items in all projects.
To disable the Social view:
Copyright © 2007–2016 Serena Software, Inc. All rights reserved.