SBM Configurator opens in wizard mode immediately after the suite installer is finished. Enter the required settings on each tab and click Next to progress through wizard.
- On the Welcome page, decide if you want to enable configuration synchronization. This option eases administrative duties and keeps configuration settings across your entire SBM installation in sync. For details, see About Configuration Synchronization.
- If you click Cancel any time during the wizard, your current changes are discarded. You must complete the wizard, and then click Finish to save your initial settings. If you close SBM Configurator during the wizard, you can launch it again from the Windows Start menu to continue.
- Once you click Finish at the end of the wizard, SBM Configurator runs in utility mode, which enables you to configure advanced settings that are not available in wizard mode.
In utility mode, you can configure advanced settings, manage services, and access additional utilities. You can also update your local configuration from the Configuration Settings database using the Synchronize Configuration button if you have enabled the configuration synchronization option.
- When you select a tab in utility mode, corresponding details appear in the main pane. Unlike wizard mode, you can configure any tab at any time.
Apply to save your changes or click
Close to discard your changes. When you click
Apply, the IIS and Tomcat services are
stopped, and your changes are saved in the
Configuration Settings database (if used). The IIS and Tomcat
services are returned to their prior status once
saves the configuration changes.
Tip: Users might not be able to access the system immediately while the services are restarting. Therefore, consider only applying configuration changes when users are not actively using the system.
- Under System Settings, you can select the Enable configuration synchronization option if you initially disabled it on the Welcome page during wizard mode. For more information, see System Settings.
About Configuration Synchronization
During wizard mode, the Welcome page prompts you to decide if you want to enable configuration synchronization. Consider enabling this option because it eases administrative duties and keeps configuration settings across your entire SBM installation in sync.
If you enable configuration synchronization:
- The Synchronize Configuration button appears at the bottom of SBM Configurator. An icon next to the button indicates if the local configuration is in sync or not. The date and time that changes were last applied are displayed as well.
- For distributed installations, you can use the
Sychronize Configuration button to immediately
update the local configuration with changes that have been saved in the
Configuration Settings database from another server.
periodically polls the
Configuration Settings database to ensure the settings on your
local machine are in sync with the settings in the database. If changes have
been detected in the database, you are prompted to click
Synchronize Configuration to update your local
Important: The update process will discard any current changes you might have made locally that have not been applied. If you have changes on your local machine that must be applied, click Apply to commit them before performing an update. This will overwrite the settings in the database using your local configuration instead, so you must confirm this action.
If you decide not to enable configuration synchronization:
- The Synchronize Configuration button does not appear and your local configuration is only stored on the file system (not in the database). If you are configuring multiple servers, you will use the Import Configuration option to import the configuration snapshot file that you exported from the first server you configured.
- For distributed installations, this means you must export and
import configuration snapshot files on each server to keep the system
configuration up-to-date or you must perform updates manually on each server
(not recommended). These are the only methods that ensure that each distributed
server shares the same connection information for component servers and if the
synchronization option is not used.
For example, if you change the IIS port number on the SBM Application Engine server, you must update the connection settings on the Application Repository and SBM Mail Services machines as well to ensure they can still communicate with SBM Application Engine. (This change is automatically detected if you use the configuration synchronization feature.)
Collecting Log Files
Use the Collect Log Files option to gather important SBM log files into one archive. Note the following:
- A copy of the sbminstall.log is included by the Collect Log Files operation. Use this log to help you troubleshoot installation issues.
- On the server that hosts SBM Logging Services, you are given the option to include Active Diagnostic log files when you click Collect Log Files.
- On the server that hosts SBM Mail Services, the Collect Log Files option captures the latest version of the ns.log file.
- The Collect Log Files operation includes a copy of your system's current Configuration Report.
- You can automate the collection of log files from the command line.
\ConfigUtility directory use the following
ConfigurationUtility.exe /util /collect-log-files c:\output.zip