Managing Workflows → Working with Workflows → Restricting Transitions
SBM offers several mechanisms for restricting the transitions that are available to users.
Privileges enable you to restrict transitions for all items in a project. You can grant or remove transition privileges for roles in SBM Composer or for individual users and groups in Application Administrator.
In Application Administrator, transition privileges are located on the Item privileges page when you are working with users and groups.
In some cases, you may need to limit individual transitions that are available to users. For example, you may want to restrict an "Approved" transition to users with a Manager role. In this case, users with the "Transition All Items" privilege would not see the "Approved" transition unless they are assigned to the Manager role.
The following restriction types are defined in SBM Composer and are the best method for restricting individual transitions:
Transitions are not available to users assigned to restricted roles.
Transitions are not available based on business rules, such as removing an "Escalate to Management" transition for low-priority items.
Transitions are not available based on item types. For example, you can restrict a "Send to Software Team" transition for items with a "Hardware Requests" item type.
In SBM Application Administrator, you can restrict transitions so they are unavailable for members of specific groups. (On-premise only.)
To restrict transitions for group members:
Copyright © 2007–2015 Serena Software, Inc. All rights reserved.